What a Difference a Decade Makes…

A little fuzzy, but this is me as Scary Spice at 13. Girl Power!

Ten years ago, I was an awkward, nerdy and insecure 13-year-old girl. And while I’m still a huge nerd and I can be a bit awkward at times, I’m proud to announce I am no longer insecure.

Now I’m not claiming to be the most confident woman on the planet because I’m not. Like most (honest) people, I have my good days and my bad days, but I try my best not to dwell on the bad days.

Probably the biggest difference between me at 13 and me at 23 is I’m finally comfortable in my own skin. I cannot tell you how many nights I cried myself to sleep begging God to make me as pretty as the blond pop stars on the cover of my teen magazines. Even though I was surrounded by strong, beautiful black women (my mom, my hair stylist and teachers, etc.), I just didn’t feel like I was (or could be) one of them.

Now, flash forward 10 years, and I’m proud to say I’m a young black woman and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I wouldn’t trade my experience and insecurities for the world, because they made me who I am today and inspired me to make the world a better place for every little girl out there dealing with the same issues.

I love my full lips, wide hips and thick thighs. My brown skin is a symbol of beauty and strength, not ugliness and weakness. This was by no means an overnight success story. It took me a long time to get to where I am today, but thanks to the love and support from my family and friends and my faith in God, I’ve made it. Better late than never, right? Here’s to the next 10 years!

2 thoughts on “What a Difference a Decade Makes…

Leave a Reply

