Pass the Gravy, Please

Don’t forget about me!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…or is it? While shopping at the mall this weekend, I couldn’t help but notice the festive holiday decorations, Santa’s workshop and Christmas carols playing softly in the background. I checked the date on my watch: definitely November 13. Roughly two weeks before Thanksgiving and more than an entire month before Christmas.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas music and decorations as much as the next person, but I follow a very strict personal rule of not playing holiday music until after Thanksgiving.

The reason is quite simple: I like to celebrate each holiday in its own time and it highly annoys me that other holidays (i.e. Halloween and Thanksgiving) are overshadowed by Christmas. Trust me, once Turkey Day has passed, I will be rocking around the Christmas tree to my holiday music playlist. But until then, turkey rules.

I was disgusted when I saw Christmas displays at Home Depot before Halloween. Christmas has become a huge marketing ploy, more than a celebration of Jesus’ birth (I mean, seriously, Black Friday commercials already?). I love giving (and getting) gifts, too, but that’s not the “reason for the season” as my grandmother would say.

Thanksgiving is just as important as Christmas. Actually, a part of me likes it more than Christmas because it takes all of the fun stuff (food, family and football) without the pressure of buying gifts. More importantly, Thanksgiving is–as its name suggests–a time to give thanks for your family, your friends, a roof over your head and food on the table. Life’s too short not to be thankful for the many blessings we all have. So wait your turn, Santa, we haven’t even carved the turkey yet. You’ll have your chance soon enough.

2 thoughts on “Pass the Gravy, Please

Leave a Reply

