Ladies, Whip Your Hair

As much as I don’t particularly like this tune from Willow Smith, I cannot help but admire the song’s theme of individuality. A woman’s hair is such an important part of who she is. Personally, I know if my hair doesn’t look good, I don’t feel good. A fabulous hairdo can change your whole mood and we often look to celebs for inspiration.

I mean, seriously, who hasn’t gone to her hair stylist for the “Rihanna”? Whether it’s the angled bob, faux-hawk or now the Ronald McDonald-red. Ten years ago, it was the “Jennifer” inspired by “Friends” star and Brad Pitt’s ex Jennifer Aniston.

The point of Willow’s song–as I understand it–is to be comfortable enough with yourself to whip your hair back and forth. I can respect that. Too often we’re told how our hair should look, how long or short or straight it should be. And, if you’re Black, there’s the natural versus relaxed debate that has been going on since the dawn of time. The list goes on and on. I say: you do you and I’ll do me.

I prefer to wear my hair relaxed (or straight ), but I don’t think that makes me any less of a Black woman as some of my natural hair counterparts would have you believe. Likewise, if you want to wear tracks, weaves or wigs, than go for it. If it makes you feel beautiful and more confident, then rock on.

As the song says, “Don’t matter if it’s long, short, do it do it whip your hair.” In the meantime, I’ll be trying to figure out how a 9-year-old girl has more swag than I do.

Leave a Reply

