Let the Beat Drop

My Gaga concert outfit.

There’s nothing like the thrill of experiencing your favorite singer or band in concert. As many of my friends can tell you, I’m a concert aficionado (up to about 20 at last count). My passion for music can most likely be attributed to my father, who raised my sister and me on a healthy diet of oldies, but goodies.

Growing up, we listened to Marvin Gaye, The Queen herself Aretha Franklin, Elton John, Hall & Oates, Gladys Knight & the Pips and Aerosmith…just to name a few. Of course, at the time, I moaned and groaned about it. “Daddy, do we have to listen to this old music?” But eventually I developed a love of and appreciation for the classics.

When I was 3, I attended my first concert: M.C. Hammer. En Vouge was the opening act. At the time, I absolutely loved Hammer. I had the pants, dolls and dance moves to prove it. As a little girl, I also saw Aretha Franklin and Patti LaBelle in concert…what a treat!

OMG! We’re at the Usher concert!

During my teeny bopper years, I saw Britney Spears, *NSYNC, Christina Aguilera and Justin Timberlake. A major thank you goes out to my parents for waiting in line to buy tickets (because online ticketing didn’t exist back then), buying the tickets for me (because I was broke) and, in my mom’s case, for sucking it up and taking me to the concerts, too. I know you probably had more important and/or exciting things to do.

My first real rap concert (unless you count M.C. Hammer) was two years ago when I took my sister to see one of her favorite rappers: Lil’ Wayne. While it was a great show, I have to say my favorite rap concert was Jay-Z, whom I also saw that year. I can’t wait to see Kanye West live.

Get it, Gaga!

Although I’m a huge Beyoncé fan and her “I Am…” tour was fabulous, hands down my favorite pop concert goes to no other than Beyoncé’s “Telephone/Video Phone” counterpart Lady Gaga. (Sorry, B.). I have one reason: Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta can sing! A lot of the pop acts I’ve seen either lip sync or sing along to a track during live performances…not Gaga. Home girl sang and danced her butt off and put on a phenomenal show at the same time.

Gotta get that Boom Boom Pow!

Now, one month into the new year, I have some exciting concerts lined up for 2011: my pop idol, Janet Jackson in March (I wanted to be her backup dancer when I was little), a Michael Jackson tribute band in April and the legendary U2 in June. I can’t wait to rock out. So tell me, what concerts are you going to this year? What’s your favorite concert?

2 thoughts on “Let the Beat Drop

Leave a Reply

