C is for Cupcakes

Graduation cupcakes, courtesy of my mom and sister.

A dozen of roses? No, thank you. A dozen of cupcakes? Yes, please. It’s been said the best way to a guy’s heart is through his stomach, but the same theory could be applied to me as well, especially if sweets are involved.

This year, I decided to give up chocolate for Lent, which has proven to be no easy feat. My greatest vice? Hershey Kisses with Almonds. Each kiss is like unwrapping a gift on Christmas morning. Luckily, I was smart enough not to part with desserts (or else I’d be a really unhappy camper right about now).

When it comes to dessert, I’m an EOE (Equal Opportunity Eater). I love pie and ice cream, but my ultimate favorite dessert has to be The Cupcake. I’ve conducted some research and I’ve determined it’s pretty much physically impossible to be upset while eating a cupcake. Don’t believe me? Try it. It’s a decadent, palm-sized piece of sugary heaven.

With the advent of cupcakeries in just about every major city, there is no shortage of places to indulge my sweet tooth. Fortunately (or perhaps unfortunately for my waist size), there’s a cupcakery about 15 minutes away from home. Every month, Sweet Devotion Cupcake & Creperie Cafe in Havre de Grace, Maryland has a special “cupcake of the month.”

The Carrot Cake Cupcake from Sweet Devotion.

In October, there was the pumpkin cupcake with cream cheese frosting. If autumn had an official cupcake, it would be that one. This month, it’s the Hummingbird cupcake–a classic Southern banana, pineapple and pecan cake with cream cheese icing and a dried pineapple flower. I’ve yet to try it, but I can’t wait.

And the icing on the (cup)cake? The cafe also serves crepes, which I first fell in love with during a trip to Paris in 2006. My favorite is the French Toast crepe, which has melted butter, cinnamon and sugar. It’s the simple things in life that make me happy, the least of which are cupcakes.

What’s your favorite dessert?

2 thoughts on “C is for Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

