Daddy’s Little Girl

Without fail, I always end up crying during father-daughter dances at wedding receptions. As a self-proclaimed Daddy’s Girl, I can’t help but get a little sentimental. Last night, I attended the wedding of two friends from college and, of course, I was teary-eyed as the bride danced with her father.

Like me, the bride has a great relationship with her father, who is also a big guy, just like my dad. Yes, my dad may look like a grizzly bear, but I swear he’s a big teddy bear once you get to know him. Every time I watch a father-daughter dance, I can’t help but think of the day when my own father will walk me down the aisle and we get to cut a rug. Chances are, we’ll both probably be in tears.

My father has always been my number-one fan–unconditionally supporting me no matter how big my dreams get. He’s always been there for me (honors assemblies, graduations, cheerleading competitions, dance recitals, etc.) and I know he will continue to be. My father has a supernatural ability to make my sister and me smile–whether it’s a minor injury, bad day or a painful loss.

Growing up, my sister and I watched our father treat the women in his life–our mom, his mom and sisters, etc.–with nothing but the utmost respect and love, which is why we know how a man is supposed to treat a woman and we won’t settle for less than the best.

Daddy, even though I may be growing up, I want you to know I will always be your little girl and you will always be my hero. I love you THIS MUCH. Love, Buttercup xox

One thought on “Daddy’s Little Girl

Leave a Reply

