Every Girl Needs a Daddy

Jay-Z was the latest artist to dedicate a song to his little girl with the debut of “Glory feat. B.I.C.” on Monday. You can listen to the heartfelt ode here. I’m not even going to lie, when I first heard it, I teared up a bit. And if we’re going to be entirely honest hear, I may or may not have done the same thing when Beyonce revealed her baby bump during her MTV VMA performance last year.

A weird reaction, perhaps. considering I don’t know Mr. and Mrs. Carter (and more than likely never will), but I was happy for them nonetheless. Bey was glowing and Jay was positively beaming, so proud to be a papa! And you can tell he’s genuinely happy in “Glory.” It’s the same feeling Stevie Wonder expressed in “Isn’t She Lovely?,” for his daughter, Aisha.

Little Known L’Oreal Fun Fact: “Isn’t She Lovely?” was the soundtrack to my first bath, thanks to my father–a true girl daddy in every sense of the word. He claims to have never wanted sons and his wish was granted with me and my sister.

Admittedly, we’re both daddy girls and I strongly believe every little girl needs a daddy. Who’s going to be there to heal her heart when someone breaks it? Catch her when she falls? Tell her she’s the most beautiful girl in the world and she deserves nothing but the best in life?

After all, as the saying goes, any guy can be a father, but it takes a real man to be a daddy. Or something like that. The point is, healthy father-daughter relationships are so crucial and I’m so fortunate to say I have a great bond with my daddy. To read more about that, you can click here.

And for any dads of daughters out there, you need to read this list of 50 rules. Seriously, stop whatever you’re doing right now and read this. I may or may not have cried a bit as I read this as well (how can you not?). And to all of you awesome daddies out there, keep doing what you do!

2 thoughts on “Every Girl Needs a Daddy

Leave a Reply

