I Miss Talking to Old People

At 24, I never thought wouldn’t have any living grandparents. Call me crazy, but I fully expected my grandparents to be in attendance for my wedding and possibly live long enough to become great-grandparents.

But, alas, that is not the case as both of my remaining grandparents passed away last year–only eight months apart.

One of the things I miss most is talking to my grandparents. Or, rather, listening as was the case with my Pop-Pop, who was known for being more than just a bit verbose. When I was a little girl, I’d sometimes complain that he talked so much. My mom, however advised me to listen because “he won’t be around forever.” Her words struck a chord with me and from that day on, I listened intently to my grandfather’s stories–even if I’d heard them a thousand times before.

There’s just something so special about talking to the elderly. They possess the type of wisdom you can only obtain through experience and they have an uncanny way of reminding you of the important things in life. This is probably why I spent about half an hour talking to Miss Pearl, my favorite sample lady at Costco. We talked about a variety of topics–her children, her grandchildren, her deceased husband, my job, my family, my relationship, etc. Quite frankly, I miss talking to old people.

Tomorrow will mark one year since my Pop-Pop passed away and I’d give absolutely anything to hear his voice again, to hear one more story. Looking back, I’m so glad I took the time to listen. I truly treasure the time we had together and the memories we created. Even though in may be gone physically, I know–I feel–that my grandfather, and all of my grandparents, live within my heart and their spirits are a part of my soul.

Rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

