40 Days without Cupcakes

Valentine's Day cupcakes, courtesy of mi novio and Iced Gems.

Even though I wasn’t raised Catholic, I’ve attend Catholic schools my entire life, from kindergarten to college. As a result, I’m able to recite most of the standard parts of the Mass and I’ve developed a habit of giving up something for Lent, the 40-day period commemorating Jesus Christ’s journey through the wilderness. It is a season marked by fasting, penitence and abstinence.

Every year, my sister and I give up something that will be particularly difficult for us. Two years ago, I gave up Facebook. Last year, I gave up chocolate. This year, I gave up cupcakes. Yes, cupcakes…my addiction. And I must admit, resisting cupcakes was much harder than logging off Facebook.

All I had to do with Facebook was deactivate my account. Boom. Done. Cupcakes, however, presented a different challenge. They were everywhere, from baby showers to birthdays to the cupcake truck that sits outside my office every Thursday afternoon (shout out to Iced Gems!). So much temptation!

But…I made it 40 days without cupcakes. Something I didn’t originally think I could do (seriously…how can you resist cupcakes?!). My “sacrifice,” if you can even call it that, however, is nothing compared to Jesus sacrificing His life for us so many thousands of years ago. For if He had not done that, you and I would not be sitting here today.

So on this Easter Sunday, I invite everyone to pause and reflect on the many blessings we have and not take them for granted. “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16).

Happy Easter, everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

