Happy Birthday, Lil’ Sis!

The "Thompson Twins" on vacation.

Twenty-one years ago today, my life changed forever, for the better. I was introduced to my little sister–the peanut butter to my jelly, the cupcake to my frosting. I vividly remember the day she was born as though it were yesterday. In fact, it’s the first childhood memory I can recall on my own without my parents telling me what happened.

I distinctly remember spending the night with my grandparents and going to visit my baby sister at the hospital. I got to hold her in my arms, with the help of my mother, of course, and I knew then…even at 3 and 1/2 years old…that I would never,ever let anything or anyone hurt her. She was mine and I’d never let her go.

(I had to bid farewell to my imaginary friend, Charlie. But that’s a different story for a different day).

I took my Big Sister responsibilities very seriously and donned my pink “I’m a Big Sister” pin from the hospital with pride. I felt important. Twenty-one years later, the pin is still sitting on my dresser and I take my role as Big Sister more seriously than before.

Of course, we’ve had our ups and downs. We’ve hurt each other, but we’re always there for each other. When I left for college, we became more than just sisters, forced together by genetics, we became best friends. She’s been there to wipe my tears and make me laugh until I snort. No one knows me better. The only way we could possibly be closer is if we were twins.

We have far too many awesome (and random) memories to count. Too many inside jokes to explain. Simply too much love for words. The kind of love that only sisters can feel for one another.

Indeed, these 21 years have gone by quickly. And I am forced to recognize that my little sister is no longer a little girl, but a young woman…and a compassionate, intelligent, and beautiful young woman at that. I couldn’t be prouder.

Happy birthday, lil’ sis! I love you more than you’ll ever know! xox

Leave a Reply

