My Mom Kicks Butt

Clowning around at the circus.

Every girl thinks her mom is the best and I am no exception. She’s always been my role model and I’ve always aspired to follow in her footsteps of being a successful career woman, a loving wife and a caring mother. But my mom is also a superhero.

Last week, a most unwelcome visitor buzzed into the family room while my sister was studying and I was typing away on my laptop. Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted something flying around. Lo and behold, it was a hornet! My sister and I promptly proceeded to scream and haul butt upstairs to avoid the creature.

Our mom, however, calmly came downstairs, found the intruder and killed the little scoundrel. Thanks, Ma, for saving my life. Seriously. If I’m allergic to bees, I can only imagine what a hornet would do to me! Aaaah!

But in that moment, I realized my mom is a superhero, among other awesome titles: mom, wife, best-fried-chicken maker, pound cake queen (Paula Deen has nothing on my mama!), professional shopper, avid bargainer, HGTV addict, sofa napper…the list goes on.

And while we may not always agree on everything (and now how to work each other’s nerves better than anyone else), I love my mama. She’s the reason I’m here and I wouldn’t trade her for the world.

Happy Mother’s Day! xox

Leave a Reply

