My Top 10 Girl Crushes

President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle...

Beyonce serenades President Barack Obama and first lady Michelle Obama during the inaugural ball. Perhaps this is when their mutual girl crush began? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s no secret that first lady Michelle Obama and Beyonce sincerely admire one another. In April, Bey wrote a loving letter to the first lady and recently, M.O. told People magazine if she could be anyone in the world, she would be Beyonce. Well, that makes two of us.

It’s also no secret that I love Queen Bey and Mrs. Obama. Just follow my Twitter feed, you’ll see what I mean. But my girl crushes aren’t limited to the reigning pop diva or first lady. Here I’ve compiled a list of my top 10 girl crushes, including celebrities and regular people alike. Why? Because as women, we should be building each other up whenever possible, not tearing each other down. A little girl-on-girl love can go a long way.

1. Beyonce. To say I’m obsessed with Queen Bey would be a gross understatement. I’ve adored her since her Destiny’s Child days and I continue to watch her flourish as a wife and a mom. Her music is the soundtrack to my life. She’s everything I want to be: “crazy in love” with a successful career. And her “bootylicious” body gave me the confidence to embrace and love my curves.

2. Michelle Obama. Is there anyone more stylish and sophisticated than our first lady? Not only is she smart, but her “Let’s Move!” campaign is especially noteworthy. It’s so nice for little girls, especially Black girls, to have a strong, powerful role model. If she ran for president this year, I would totally vote for her.

3. Demetria Lucas. No, I’ve never met her. But since I read her book, “A Belle in Brooklyn: The Go-To Girl for Advice on Living Your Best Single Life,” last summer and started her blog, I feel like I know her. Besides giving excellent relationship and life advice, her story is also inspirational for me. We’re both journalists with humble beginnings in Maryland who dreamed of making it big. She’s doing just that in New York and I aspire to get there myself one day.

4. My college roommate. Every girl should have a friend who is her complete opposite. It will make you a better person. Whereas I’m a teeny bopper at heart, she’s more of a music and movie snob. But that’s why I love her. She’s also pretty adventurous and has talked me into some pretty random things throughout our friendship, but I trust her with my life, so I go right along with it.

5. My fitness instructors at Xpose Fitness in Towson, Md. These women are fit, fierce and fabulous! They inspire me to not only push my body to its limit and beyond, but they encourage all of their clients to love their bodies as well. Talk about women’s empowerment!

6. Rihanna. Love her or hate her, there’s something unabashedly sexy and unapologetic about the beauty from Barbados that I admire. She puts it all out there and then some. Embracing your sexuality is not a bad thing.

7. My college cheerleading captain. At first, her beauty intimidated me. But when she invited me–a lowly freshman–to help her–a junior–with choreography, I felt honored. And I’ve admired her humility and intelligence ever since. She’s now a loving wife and happy mommy to a very adorable baby girl!

8. Santana from “Glee.” No, she’s not a real person. But I love the character and her sauciness. Sure, she can be a little biatch sometimes, but when you dig deep, you discover she’s a really good person. And she’s pretty hot, too!

9. Anna Pulley. I came across Anna’s while reading her sex column in RedEye (a daily newspaper in Chicago) and decided basically she’s awesome. She’s a witty writer, much like my college roomie mentioned above, and she gives great advice.

10. Marilyn Monroe. Ever since I discovered the Hollywood icon was a size 12 (at a time when I was pretty self-conscious about my own body/weight), I’ve loved her. Plus, she’s gave this pretty awesome quote: “I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times, hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” Enough said.

3 thoughts on “My Top 10 Girl Crushes

Leave a Reply

