Life Lessons from Daddy

I get my love of taking pictures from my dad, in case you couldn’t tell.

My father is a man of very few words. So when he does speak, it’s usually for a good reason. Or, at the very least, it’s to crack a joke and make us smile. Below are a few of the lessons my Daddy has taught me throughout the years.

Boys are stupid. I’m not entirely sure what caused my dad to drop this little nugget of knowledge on the way home one day, but he was right, nonetheless.

You have to pay (sales) taxes. It’s a bit of a confusing concept if you’re a kid. Seriously, if it says it costs $1, then why do I have to pay $1.05 (at the time)?! But my dad broke it down for me in the booth of a Baltimore City McDonald’s one day and I’ve remembered it ever since. Later, I received a big girl lesson on income taxes.

But you don’t have to pay retail. My dad is infamous for finding great bargains, most notably designer shirts at Goodwill. I learned you don’t have to pay full price to get a quality item, which is probably why I live at stores such as Marshalls and Ross.

A little bit of kindness goes a long way. My dad is perhaps the most patient, kindness man I’ve known. So he had my sister and me performing random acts of kindness for loved ones and strangers since we were little girls. It’s a lesson that’s stuck with us through today.

Crunchy peanut butter > creamy peanut butter. Enough said.

Happy Father’s Day, Daddy. I love you THIS MUCH! xox

Leave a Reply

