My Obsession with Marilyn Monroe

Cropped screenshot of Marilyn Monroe from the ...

Screenshot of Marilyn Monroe from the trailer for “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This past Sunday, August 5 was the 50th anniversary of the death of Hollywood icon Marilyn Monroe. My obsession with Miss Monroe began at an early age…way before I knew what it meant to be sexy or knew anything about sexuality. I remember seeing her picture–most likely the infamous one of her dress blowing up in “The Seven Year Itch“–and thinking she was the most glamorous person I’d ever seen…and an obsession was born.

Confession: I’ve never seen an entire Marilyn Monroe movie. My love affair with the superstar is not linked to her acting or singing skills…although, she does sing a rather fetching version of “Happy Birthday.” But as a young girl going through puberty (ugh!), she was everything I wanted to be: beautiful, feminine, and most importantly, confident…with a touch of mystery.

When I’d learned Norma Jean was a size 12 (or something like that…this fact is disputable), I was ecstatic. Here was this voluptuous woman and people thought–still think!–she’s gorgeous. There was hope for me after all! Before Beyonce and J. Lo made “bootylicious” popular and acceptable again, there was Marilyn and for that I admire her. It gave me the confidence boost I needed to embrace my own curves.

She’s also the woman behind one of my favorite quotes: “I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” Preach on, Marilyn, preach on! And, despite the controversy that will forever surround your name and your death, may you rest in peace and rest knowing you had a significant impact on this girl.

One thought on “My Obsession with Marilyn Monroe

Leave a Reply

