This Year, I Resolve to…

Another year, another 365 days full of opportunity. I don’t subscribe to the “New Year, New You” notion. Nor do I “believe” in New Year’s resolutions–those come and go.

But goals? They seem to be pretty tangible. So, with that said, here are my goals for 2014:

1. Go to bed earlier.

Seems easy in theory, but when you don’t get home until 8 or 9 (on a good night…if you DON’T go to the gym afterward) and eat dinner until 10 then procrastinate on social media, it’s easy to find yourself wondering at 1:30 a.m. “Where did the time go?” So I’m planning to go to sleep earlier. And by “early,” I mean before midnight. Wish me luck!

2. Cook more often.

Okay, honestly, this goal should probably just say “cook.” And yes, this has been my “goal” for the last three years. What’s different this year? Well, for starters, I moved out of my parents’ house last year and I’m finally living on my own. Time to be a real adult and make my own food.

Secondly, I live in Chicago. It’s expensive. It’s especially expensive to eat out ALL. THE. TIME!! And, last but not least, I’m getting MARRIED this year. Not to be all old-fashioned or anything, but I should probably learn to cook for my future family. (To be fair, my fiancé, Jeff, cooks more than I do) So if you have any easy, yummy dishes to share, please send the recipes my way!

3. Save money.

Did I mention I live in Chicago and it’s expensive? Or that I’m planning a wedding? Oh, and I’m still paying back my student loans…five years later? Yeah, I need to stop splurging on Starbucks and start saving bucks. (See what I did there?)

My hope is that by cooking more often, I will inevitably not spend as much on takeout. Also, Jeff and I are doing the 52-Week Money Challenge, wherein we’ll put away $1 according to the number for that week. So, for example, this week, we’ll set aside $1 each. Next week, $2 each. And so forth and so on until we’ve racked in a cumulative $2,800, or $1,400 each. Honeymoon fund anyone? 😉

What are your goals for the New Year? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “This Year, I Resolve to…

Leave a Reply

