New year. New name. New career.

Historically speaking, I’ve never been a big fan of change.

I cried at both my high school and college graduations because I wouldn’t see my friends every day. I cried when I left my first full-time job because I would miss my coworkers. And I cried when I moved to Chicago because I was leaving my family.

Basically, I was afraid of moving on, not knowing what to expect.

But I have to say, 2014 brought along a couple of awesome changes: I said “I do” to the love of my life AND I accepted a new job, or career, actually.

IMG_5454

Beginning this month, I will be venturing into the world of communications. That’s right, no more journalism. At least, not full-time.

I still plan to freelance on a regular basis because, let’s face it, I was born to write. But for years I’ve been contemplating a more meaningful career–one where I felt as though I was truly making a difference.

Of course, I’m excited/nervous/anxious. What if I’m not good at it? Better yet, what if I miss being a journalist? Only time will tell.

But in the meantime, I’m focusing on making 2015 my year of fabulousness by accomplishing the following goals:

1. Write more often. I know, I know. I say this just about every other year. But now that I won’t be writing professionally all day, every day, I’ll have to make more of an effort … wish me luck!

2. Choose me. Trying to please everyone is exhausting. Not everyone is going to love me … and that’s okay. This is the year I get my Idina Menzel on and “let it go.”

3. Take more risks. This goes for everything from my career to my clothes. Hello, tulle skirt!

4. Get organized. And this applies to everything from my apartment to my Pinterest boards (follow me if you like food and cupcakes).

5. Go on our honeymoon. Yes, we took a mini-moon to New Orleans immediately after the wedding, but I think we’re due a legit tropical vacation.

What are your goals/resolutions for 2015? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

