The Power of Visualization aka Why You Should Make a Vision Board

If the old adage “you are what you eat” is true, then I maintain “you are what you see” is accurate as well.

Growing up, I constantly believed I wasn’t ever “good enough” or “pretty enough” because the teen magazines I subscribed to had led me to believe I wasn’t worthy because I wasn’t a blonde girl with blue eyes and big boobs.

Le sigh.

My first “vision board” was basically pictures of Beyonce and Jennifer Lopez on the border of my bedroom mirror. These women were curvy and proud of it and, looked more like me than the teen pop stars on the covers of my magazines. Queen Bey and Jenny from the Block helped me realize black/brown is beautiful, regardless of what mainstream media says.

And every time I saw their Coke-bottle bodies and bootylicious bums in the mirror, I felt more confident with my own reflection and the bright-eyed teenage girl staring back at me.

Throughout the years, I’ve made other vision or dream boards and decided to revisit the idea after reading an article by my friend Charreah K. Jackson in the January issue of Essence. A new year is the perfect time to reevaluate your goals and assess your values.

Recently, I created a vision board with my mentee, who is in eighth grade, and it was like watching a younger version of myself. I couldn’t help but notice her cut out words such as “confidence,” “passion” and “innovation.” This being 2015, she added a few hand-drawn hashtags, such as #Determined, #Happiness and #Joy.

It may seem silly or cliche. And I know what you’re thinking, “Can looking at inspirational quotes and images really make a difference?”

The answer is a resounding YES!!

Ever hear of the phrase “mind over matter”? It’s the power of visualization.

This isn’t voodoo or some sort of sorcery. But creating a vision board (and, perhaps more importantly, regularly using it), can positively impact your life and your frame of mind. After all, happiness is a choice and, as one of my former editors would say, I’m choosing happy.

Leave a Reply

