Why I’ve Lost All Respect for Dr. Ben Carson

Once upon a time, I adored Ben Carson.

As a little girl, I remember watching a play based on his life and deciding at that very moment I wanted to become a doctor. I read everything I could about the profession, including an autographed copy of Carson’s autobiography, Gifted Hands. You could say I was obsessed.

As it turns out, I followed another career path, but my love and respect for Dr. Carson never waned.

Until now.

In a recent interview with CNN, the notable neurosurgeon-turned-political-pundit said he “absolutely” believes being gay is a choice.

“Because a lot of people who go into prison go into prison straight — and when they come out, they’re gay,” he said. “So, did something happen while they were in there? Ask yourself that question.”

**crickets**

Naturally, he issued an apology shortly thereafter. But it’s not the first time Carson has made some questionable remarks about gay people.

Call it naive, but I always like to think the best of someone until he or she proves me wrong.

Well, Carson has certainly demonstrated through his words and beliefs that he is no longer worthy of my respect or adoration.

Read the full story at JETmag.com.

Leave a Reply

