10 Women Who Changed My Life

Sure, I’ve been known to shout-out my girl crushes on this here blog, but what about the women who’ve had a fundamental impact on my life?

Inspired by a recent Glamour article featuring Katy Perry, I’ve decided to create my own list of women who’ve changed my life in honor of Women’s History Month.

1. My mom. Yes, she gave me life, but she’s demonstrated what it means to be a strong and successful daughter, wife, mother and career woman, even if it means making unpopular choices.

2. My sister. You wouldn’t know she’s three-and-a-half years my junior by all the wisdom she spouts on a regular basis. She is truly the kindest woman I know.

3. My grandmothers. I was blessed enough to have three in my lifetime and even though they’re all watching over me from heaven, their go-getter spirits live on in me.

4. My college roommates. There ‘s an old saying that you don’t go to college to find your husband, but rather your bridesmaids. And that couldn’t be truer. These ladies are more than friends to me, they’re like sisters and each of them has truly influenced my life.

5. Rosa Parks. My first girl crush. Her story inspired me to stand up for my beliefs especially when it’s often so much easier to simply go with the flow.

6. Maya Angelou. As a writer, of course I admire her work. But it’s her quote about success (“Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it”) that forever altered my career outlook.

7. Michelle Obama. An Ivy League-educated Black First Lady with style and grace? Yes, please!

8. Beyoncé. The pop diva encouraged me to embrace my bootyliciousness and gave my middle school self-esteem a much-needed booster shot.

9. My former editors. I wouldn’t be where I am today if they hadn’t lifted me up to their level and given me the courage to fly on my own. They’re the best mentors

10. ALL of my pole instructors and pole sisters. These woman pushed me to my limits and beyond, helping me uncover both my inner and outer strength.

Leave a Reply

