Why My Sister is My Best Friend

Once upon a time, I had an imaginary friend named Charlie. I was an only child at the time so I needed someone to occupy my time and my imagination. Charlie, who enjoyed playing “dress up” as much as I did, fit the bill.

But when my parents told 3-year-old me that I was going to have a little sister soon, I kicked Charlie to the curb. Or, more accurately, I sent him to San Francisco (Full House was my favorite show at the time) and he now drives trolleys for a living. I had to make room for the new little person in my life.

Besides vague memories of Charlie (my mom had to fill in the blanks), my first concrete memory was when my grandparents took me to visit my little sister at the hospital the morning after she was born. From the first time I held her in my arms to her recent maid of honor speech at my wedding, my sister has been my “other half.”

IMG_4077

While we’ve always been close, we didn’t reach BFF status until I went away to college and she no longer had to live in my shadow. Because we’re only three-and-a-half years apart, we attended the same primary school and oftentimes had the same teachers. For better or worse, she was always “L’Oreal’s little sister.”

When we were younger, we’d get into it. I mean, name-calling and the occasional slap/scratch. As we got older, we’d sometimes get into screaming matches but would return to our regular ways shortly thereafter.

“Ugh, I can’t stand you!”

Twenty-five minutes later…

“Hey, you wanna go to Waffle House?”

No “I’m sorry, please forgive me.” We had our blow-up and then we went right back to being friends. The privileges of having a sister. While our behavior sometimes befuddled our mom, even when we’re livid with one another my sister and I will ALWAYS have each other’s back.

IMG_6972

So here’s three reasons why my sister is my best friend (I have about a gazillion more, but in the interest of saving time and keeping your attention, I’ll boil it down to these three)…

1. She makes me happy when skies are grey. I’ve had about three major “ugly cries” during my adult life (before my senior dance recital, before I moved to Chicago and during my rehearsal dinner) and my sissy has been there to dry my tears each and every single time. Even though she’s younger, she’s full of wisdom and knows just what to say to make me feel better. P.s. Sorry for ruining your shirt with my mascara. Love you, mean it!

2. She just gets me. You know the people in your life who can just tell something’s wrong by the tone of your voice or know how you really feel about someone based on your facial expressions? That’s my sister. As my husband noted, my sister and I can have entire conversations with each other without saying a word. The only way we could be closer is if we were in the womb at the same time.

3. She’s my person. If you’ve ever watched Shonda Rhimes’ first mega hit Grey’s Anatomy will catch this reference. It’s used to describe the sisterhood/BFF relationship between Cristina and Meredith and as a result, it is applied to the highest level of friendship attainable. Because, as Cristina said, “If I murdered someone, she’s the person I’d call to help me drag the corpse across the living room floor.”

And there you have it. If you’re lucky enough to have a sister (or friend who’s like a sister) you absolutely adore, make sure you tell her. Today. Like right now. Stop what you’re doing and CALL her and tell her how much she means to you. You’ll be glad you did! 🙂

One thought on “Why My Sister is My Best Friend

Leave a Reply

