Up, Up and Away!

Throughout my relatively short career as a journalist, I’ve had the opportunity to do some amazing things. I’ve interviewed celebrities (Olympic gold medalist Michael Phelps, two-time “Dancing with the Stars” champion Cheryl Burke and “Ace of Cakes” star Duff Goldman), modeled in a teen magazine and gained access to some pretty cool events, such as the LPGA Tournament.

But last night, I embarked on the journey of a lifetime. I had an assignment to write about a local hot air company and decided to tag along with my friend, Nicole, who is one of the magazine photographers. What we didn’t anticipate was the chance to ride in the balloon itself. In a word? Ah-mazing. Absolutely breathtaking.

Soaring 3,000 feet above the air, I did not have a care in the world. Overlooking the treetops and expansive farmland, I felt (as cliche as it sounds) one with nature. The ride was serene. I could’ve stayed up there forever.

It’s always been a goal of mine to ride in a hot air balloon ever since my dad took my sister and me to the Preakness Celebration Balloon Festival when we were little. Now thanks to Light Flight Hot Air Balloons, I am one step closer to completing my Bucket List.

Leave a comment